0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Josh Papalii and Jack Wighton win 2020 Meninga Medal

Posted By: Raidercast
September 29, 2020, 08:30:01 PM
Canberra Raiders stars Josh Papalii and Jack Wighton have been named joint Meninga Medal winners in 2020 after they finished on top of the voting for the club’s player of the year award.

It’s Wighton’s first Meninga Medal win after another stellar season from the Raiders five-eighth, while Josh Papalii wins his fourth overall and third consecutive Meninga Medal.

    This year’s Meninga Medal presentation took on a different look, with the event hosted in-house at the Huawei Raiders Centre in Braddon, with only members of the club’s bubble able to attend the presentation. The event was streamed through the club's Facebook page so club sponsors, members and fans could experience the event.

The Meninga Medal is awarded annually to the club’s best player, with voting for the top honour conducted by the players and football staff weekly on a 3-2-1 basis. At the end of 20 rounds, Papalii and Wighton each finished on 15 votes, with Elliott Whitehead the next best on 13 votes.

Raiders forward Ryan Sutton was presented with the Coaches Award for his outstanding season and application to the team, while Semi Valemei collected the club’s Rookie of the Year award.

            After another strong season, Dunamis Lui was presented with the Club Person of the Year award for his work both on and off the field for the club, with his leadership and guidance for the club’s younger players rewarded.

    Matt Frawley collected the club’s Welfare and Education award for his ongoing commitment to a career post-football in finance, as he continues to study a Diploma of Finance and Mortgage Broking.

    2020 Meninga Medal Winners Geoff Caldwell Welfareand Education Award – Matt Frawley

Fred Daly Memorial Club Person of the Year – Dunamis Lui

NRL Rookie of the Year – Semi Valemei

NRL Coaches Award – Ryan Sutton

Meninga Medal – Josh Papaliiand Jack Wighton (Joint Winners)

Meninga Medal Top 6 15 Points – Josh Papalli and Jack Wighton

13 Points – Elliott Whitehead

10 Points – Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad

9 Points – Ryan Sutton and Joe Tapine

More: https://www.raiders.com.au/news/2020/09/29/josh-papalii-and-jack-wighton-win-2020-meninga-medal/


Follow Raidercast
Raidercast.com.au - The Ultimate Canberra Raiders Website