Topic: CRRL: CDRL Announced as Finalist for 2017 CBR Sport Award  

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.


  • Administrator
  • Jason Croker
  • Posts: 200870
  • Karma: +1382/-7
CRRL: CDRL Announced as Finalist for 2017 CBR Sport Award
« on: November 15, 2017, 04:09:35 PM »
   Canberra District Rugby League have been announced as a finalist for the Ministers Award for Inclusion at the 2017 CBR Sport Awards.

The nomination is recognition for the work that CDRL have done in making rugby league a sport for all in the Canberra region.

Minister Yvette Berry today announced the finalists for the 2017 CBR Sport Awards presented by Geocon.

Nominations were received from sports as diverse as surf life saving, snowsports and motorcross.  More than 30 sports were recognised for their achievements and excellence.

Selection Committee Chair and legendary local athlete Rob de Castella said:

“It makes me proud as a Canberran to see the incredible talent and diversity of our athletes and our teams, and the great impact they’re having across the community.

“There’s such a depth of contributors to sport in the ACT – you don’t need to be starring on the back page of the paper – and this is a great way for us to acknowledge and recognise those contributions, in the Awards and in the Hall of Fame.

“It was wonderful to be part of the selection committee and we’re thrilled with the finalists being announced today.”

The award finalists, in no particular order, are:

Athlete of the Year – Men’s Sport


  • Nick Kyrgios – Tennis
  • Michael Matthews – Cycling
  • Harry Bink – Motorcross

Athlete of the Year – Women’s Sport


  • Laura Peel - SnowSports
  • Caroline Buchannan – Cycling BMX
  • Ashleigh Sykes – Football

Athlete of the Year – Para Sport


  • Cameron Crombie – Athletics
  • Scott Reardon – Athletics
  • Jayden Sawyer – Athletics

Konica Minolta Team of the Year


  • Canberra United Football
  • ACT 89er’s – ACT Open Men’s Softball Team
  • ACT Schoolboys Rugby Union

WIN Network Outstanding Service to Sport


  • Raynie McNee – Cycling
  • Carmel Weatherburn – Netball
  • Marie Hart – Cricket

Ministers Award – Innovation


  • CBR Brave
  • Basketball ACT
  • Broulee Surf Life Saving Club

Ministers Award – Inclusion


  • Tuggeranong Bulldogs Football Club
  • Tennis ACT
  • Canberra District Rugby League

Ministers Award – Event Excellence

  • Orienteering ACT
  • Tennis ACT
  • Capital Football