Topic: 2013 Meninga Medal Award Winners  

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.


  • Love My Mighty Raiders! RNA Website Developer
  • Administrator
  • Jason Croker
  • Posts: 6731
  • Karma: +1/-0
2013 Meninga Medal Award Winners
« on: September 12, 2013, 12:10:30 AM »
Milford Wins Meninga Medal

Raiders star rookie Anthony Milford has capped off a wonderful debut season in the NRL, by winning the 2013 Meninga Medal for the best and fairest player in the Raiders NRL squad.

Milford polled 19 votes in the Medal count in his 18 matches, in a debut season which announced his arrival on the NRL stage.

Points for the Meninga Medal are awarded in a 3-2-1 format for each game of the regular NRL season, and allocated based on player votes after each match.

Paul Vaughan collected the award for the NRL rookie of the year, while the NRL Coach’s Award was shared by new recruit Joel Edwards and veteran Brett White.

Long serving Raiders Recruitment and High Performance Manager David Hamilton was awarded the prestigious Fred Daly Memorial Trophy for clubman of the year, while Shaun Fensom took home the Geoff Caldwell Award for Welfare and Education for his off-field work as a carpentry apprentice.

In the NYC awards, star fullback Jack Ahearn was named the Player’s Player after a big season, with Patrick Mago winning the NYC Coach’s Award.

2013 Meninga Medal – Award Winners

Meninga Medal – Anthony Milford

Final Vote Tally:

•   19 – Anthony Milford
•   14 – Blake Ferguson
•   12 – Paul Vaughan
•   11 – Jack Wighton
•   9 – Edrick Lee
•   8 – Jarrod Croker, Reece Robinson

NRL Coach’s Award – Joel Edwards and Brett White

NRL Rookie of the Year – Paul Vaughan

NYC Player’s Player – Jack Ahearn

NYC Coach’s Award – Patrick Mago

Fred Daly Memorial Clubman of the Year – David Hamilton

Gordon McLucas Memorial Junior Representative Player of the Year – Mitch Cornish

Geoff Caldwell Memorial Welfare and Education Award – Shaun Fensom

Source: Raiders Press Release