0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Raidercast 2017 Canberra Raiders Player of the Year

Posted By: Archie
January 03, 2018, 04:50:58 PM
Congratulations to the Raidercast 2017 Canberra Raiders Player of the Year, Nick Cotric!

In an amazing first for the Raidercast Player of the Year Award, Canberra Raiders fans have voted rookie sensation Nick Cotric as the club's best player for season 2017. This marks the first time in the award's history that a player has won the award in their debut season.

Making his NRL debut in round 1 against the Cowboys, the teenager from Tuggeranong had what can only be described as an incredible season in 2017. At times it was hard to comprehend how a player so young could possess such speed and power as Cotric displayed. One such moment came against the Eels where the fleet-footed winger stepped his way past multiple defenders and then sliced through the line to score what was a crucial try in the context of the match.

It wasn't just attack where Nick excelled though. The young Raider produced bone crunching tackles in defence the likes of which you'd normally expect from a prop forward. His vision and ability to read the play was also showcased on numerous occasions, particularly when he came up with an intercept on his own line to deny the Broncos what looked like a certain try.

Playing outside Raiders' captain and club legend Jarrod Croker, the young Cotric looks like he was born to play first grade from the moment he stepped onto the footy field and never looked back. Having just recently signed a contract extension with the Raiders which will keep him at the club until at least 2020, and already being talked about by many as an Origin certainty for the Blues, it looks like the sky is the limit for this amazingly talented young superstar in the making.

Raidercast 2017 Player of the Year Vote Tally (Top 5):

1. Nick Cotric - 19 Votes
2. Jordan Rapana - 13 Votes
3. Elliot Whitehead - 6 Votes
4. Jarrod Croker - 6 Votes
5. Josh Hodgson - 6 Votes

Click here to see previous winners of the award.
« Last Edit: January 03, 2018, 05:26:15 PM by Archie »


Follow Raidercast
Raidercast.com.au - The Ultimate Canberra Raiders Website